2015…

A new year has begun. A bit strange if you ask me. 2015 sounds so far into the future, but it’s not. It’s right here. It’s here and it’s nothing like we imagined it would be when we were kids. I thought for sure that by now we’d have flying cars and go on to space vacations regularly (ok, maybe I’m exaggerating, but that’s what we were promised, right?).

What sort of future did we get instead? Is it fun walking around carrying a smartphone sharing your location and private life with anyone willing to listen? I don’t know. I do it too. It’s kinda sad though. All that technology, all that potential, and what is ultimately used for is marketing. To get us to buy more stuff we don’t really need.

I think we can do better. Humanity deserves more than that. I mean we slave away at meaningless jobs, trying to get more money to buy things we don’t really need… wait, is that from fight club? Well, almost. It went something like this “We buy things we don’t need with money, we don’t have to impress people we don’t like”. I guess the point remains: why am I still quoting a 20-year old novel, a 15-year old movie? Why do we still live in a world where money is god? Why, even after (or during) the recession, did we not get it? Why slave away for other people? For faceless corporations, for greedy CEOs, why do we keep making excuses for them? Maybe we just like being peasants working for the king. It’s sort of always been this way, it just had different names over the centuries.

Peasant vs King

I’ll fight it for as long as I can. I am not a slave, I am not a peasant, I’m definitely not working so that the greedy people “on top” can make more money. I commit to making the world a better place. Through my work, through the technology we are so lucky to have, and through any other action that can actually help. I do not believe in collecting “likes”, I believe in studying, learning, sharing (in a good way), and acting in an organised calculated manner. But knowledge comes first.

It may be simple, but it is what I plan to do this year.

4 thoughts on “2015…”

  1. We buy things we don’t need with money, we don’t have to impress people we don’t like”.
    And thats so true. Because we want to belong to a group or so I think.
    Crazy how young families live these days. Kids with smartfoons Kids with whatever .And why?? because we want them to belong to a group
    we dont play outside..Kids dont make themselves dirty anymore. Strange world Marilena if u ask me.
    Huggy and best wishes also for u

Leave a Reply

