Quote of the day

 
 
"Love and happiness are merely driving forces for what is ultimately the goal of life: death".
 
Very profound isn’t it? It should be, it’s mine
 
 
Well anyway, I was reading this article on how human existence is possible only if fundamental constants such as the speed of light or the strength of gravity are not higher or lower than what is observed. I found it quite interesting and much more optimistic than my "quote". It’s a theory but it’s worth a look if you are looking for something interesting to read online… http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/16038052/
 
 
For more space news check out http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/3033063/ which includes an article about how liquid water may have flowed within the past few years on the Red Planet. Maybe there really was life there after all… Well who knows…
 
 
Back to my profound quote now… I really have been thinking about life and all the things we go through every day… and for what? We all end up dying… It’s a bit sad… Is our life really such a waste? Or is there a purpose? It really gets to you when you think about this stuff… Everything around you seems so pointless… Erm.. yeah whatever, I’m off… Invasion is on
4 thoughts on “Quote of the day”

  1. hmm… purpose?
     
    I dont think that life has a purpose. Life on this planet as Stephen Hawking put it must have spontanously generated itself. We are just a mere coincidence in the infinity of the universe.
     
    btw Invasion is cool but Lost, Heroes and Scrubs are better 🙂

  2. I’m not a big fan of the "spontanously generated" theory; it would by default pretty much exclude life anywhere else in the universe and I really doubt that that is the case. I do believe that if conditions are right life would emerge. But nobody at this stage really knows. We can only speculate and form our own little theories…
     
    As far as a purpose goes the whole thing was supposed to be a joke but who knows… Most people need to know that their life is not completely pointless and that their existence really does have an ultimate purpose. That’s what most religions are about anyway…
     
    Btw I do watch Lost and used to watch Scrubs when I was in the UK but yesterday Invasion was on. I’m not one of those pretentious people that just throw a name so that others thing they are cool. I have no idea what Heroes is but I’ll IMDB it 😛

  3. I know you meant it as a joke but i was bored 😛
     
    I tend to disagree though when you say it pretty much excludes life existing elsewhere. I think its the exact opposite. It makes it certain that life exists elsewhere. Because just as it spontanously generated here, it can, will and probably has been spontanously generated itself elsewhere. The universe is too big to know for sure but thats my view. ANYWAY!
     
    Heroes started this september and is pretty good indeed. You cant find it on tv yet in Europe but i download it everytime a new epsisode is out. You can watch it on their website i think if you’re not the "piracy" type like me. Arrrr ahhoy me mateys!

  4. Heroes sounds cool, it’s relatively new, maybe I’ll wait for the first season to be over before I start downloading it. Who knows maybe it’ll be on TV soon… 🙂

Leave a Reply

